Tags

***** 5 Stars

Great book!  I love how vibrantly Sanderson writes his worlds.  I’ve read Legion previously, and started on the first Mistborn (getting distracted by other books, including this one…) and The Allow of Law has formally cemented me as a fan.  I will definitely be going back to Mistborn to read the first three books. AND I’ll be drawing on my steel metalmind for good measure.  Oh, and I love that the book is set centuries after the Mistborn trilogy – it’s connected, but at the same time – not.  I’m eager to dive into the trilogy and find out what those differences truly are.

To me, this book is akin to 1 dash X-Men, and 2 dashes of Wild Wild West. Just skip the spandex, the cast of superheroes, and toss in lots of crooks, some with powers of their own, one lawman, and a sidekick.  The way Sanderson handles the Allomancy and Feruchemy is great. He’s obviously taken great care in developing the mechanics behind the powers.

I love how much you are in the mind of the protagonist (Wax) and how he sees the world around him, his interactions, and observations. The only negative thing I really have to say is the epilogue.  I really didn’t like how it just led into the hooks for a sequel.  True, it did answer some questions that might’ve lingered, but in my opinion that would have been better served as a prologue to the next book.  Just my two cents.  We’ll have to wait and see what happens in the next one.  Until then…

