Tags

,

First things first, I’d like to wish a happy Thanksgiving to my Canadian friends.  Although I live in the states, I do like honoring the land of my birth by celebrating this festive occasion. Besides, I couldn’t say no to another reason for a nice holiday meal, right?  Good, I knew you’d understand.

Next, my planned post about editing an epub’s structure and removing the extraneous table of contents in Sigil (which is created if you chose to create your own ToC in Scrivener instead of using their default, which is what I do) is stuck in its own mire of problems. (I broke it.) With the event of my prior computer suffering from heat stroke, I have lost the notes I previously had on performing this as they are out of reach (temporarily I hope – I will need to dig in the computer’s hard drive to see if I can extract the information). Figuring that I’ve done it enough I went ahead and booted up Sigil, made most of the necessary changes only to find out that there is a step that I’m missing, and for the life of me I cannot recall what it is without retracing the steps that I took originally (research, testing, etc) to solve the problem that I am now facing. So what does this mean?  Well, simply – I need to see if I can’t dive into my old computer and retrieve that, and any other important files that I may happen to find along the way that I couldn’t get on my initial backup before I got fed up with my prior system.  If not, I’ll have to reinvent the wheel. C’est la vie, non?

Now, to give everyone an idea of what I’m planning to write tips or instructions on, here are the two items that are coming up soon:

  • Creating your own table of contents in Scrivener.
  • Editing your epub in Sigil to remove the Scrivener generated table of contents.

I was also considering a brief tutorial on converting epubs to mobi using the ePub to Mobi application, but I’ve decided to skip that unless there are requests for it – in which case, I can certainly do so.

If there are any tips for the Windows version of Scrivener that you’d like to see be sure to let me know, or if there is a problem that you have a question on, I will answer it if I can, or do my best to research the issue and find a resolution.  After all, any help I can provide just may prevent a problem for myself or anyone else who may happen to be reading these tips, right?

