Tags

, , ,

OK, in the last post, I outlined the rough process that I use to create an E-book for my personal use so I can use my Kindle’s notation feature to make notes on my manuscript so I can make basic edits and revisions while I am out and about, away from my keyboard.  In this post I will explain the steps to creating an ebook in Scrivener.  Keep in mind that the instructions that are I am providing are for the Windows version.  As I do not use the Mac version, I’m not sure if these will translate over completely, or if there are differences that will need to be taken into account.

Now, the first step that needs to be taken once your manuscript is loaded into Scrivener is to click on the ‘Compile’ button, which is locHere is the Compile buttonated at the top of the screen in the taskbar.  Alternately, it can be located in the ‘File’ menu or by hitting Ctrl+Shift+E.

Once you’ve accessed the Compile menu, you will want to choose which portion(s) of the manuscript you want to compile into the ebook.  To do this, if the menu is not already on the ‘Contents’ tab, go ahead and click on it now.  From there you will see four columns:  Include, Title, Pg Break Before, and As-Is.  By clicking on Include you will make sure that it is included in your E-book. By clicking on Pg Break Before, there will be a page break included before each section that you are including. In this case, I have my sections divided by chapters, and front matter sections – so I include this on each item I’m compiling. The last item is ‘As-Is’. What this does is ensure that any formatting choices you make are retained in the book. I also use this to retain any formatting that I wish to keep.The Compile menu, highlighting the Contents Tab

Once you’ve decided what you want to keep in your current compile, go ahead and choose the format you want to save the compile as.  In this instance we are creating an E-book – so let’s go ahead and choose that now.

Once that has been chosen, we’ll go ahead and decide which flavor of E-book we’ll be formatting as.  In this case, we’ll be choosing epub since I want to use Sigil to further modify the epub before final publication to a Kindle compatible format.The Compile For drop-down menu in Scrivener's Compile menu.

The next step is to click on the ‘Compile’ button.  From there, we will be to choose the location to save the book.  I chose the default folder that came up for me, which was the folder that I’m using to save the scrivener files for my Pallitine Rising book.  You should choose whatever folder is best for your needs.  Once you have chosen your destination, type in the name you want your file to have and click on ‘Save’ and your new epub will be created in the directory chosen and you will see the ‘Compile Success’ message.

Go to the folder you chose to save the file in, and walla!  You will find your newly minted E-book.  Enjoy!

